Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sports Discussion

(07-08-2019, 02:55 PM)Junglist Tactikz Wrote:
(07-05-2019, 02:23 PM)MACK IS GOD Wrote: I have to say that when I reflect back on my life I really wish I had joined the Navy.

After High School I really stagnated for a few years and went through a bit of depression and loneliness as many of my friends went off to college and the military. My mother got breast cancer a few months after I graduated and I took a job working with one of my uncles to help her pay the bills and keep her house. Thankfully she recovered and was healthy and able to return to work after 6 months or so.

But instead of refocusing my thoughts onto my future I kind of just filled the void of most of my friends being off in college and the military with negative behaviors and lifestyle. And after a few years of that it became a hard sell to convince me to give up the lifestyle of drugs, money, gambling, and women in exchange for getting my ass handed to me in basic training.

In retrospect I really wish I had the foresight and strength of character to take that chance on myself. There is no doubt I would be better off as a man had I done that.
Hindsight is 20/20 broski. Look at it this way: if you've been about that life for this long, it means you were able to live through it. You aren't dead.
Trust me, even now I look back on some of the things I did or didn't do, said or didn't say, and kick myself for it. I should have cared more about school when I was in instead of doing just enough to not flunk out. I would have never even ended up in the Navy.
Do I regret joining? Not especially, but my life should have gone in a different direction. It is what it is, though; I am glad I am where I am and glad I have had the experiences I have had, even the bad ones.